Top Kenya Film Industry Performers Rewarded At 2018 Kalasha Awards


November’s last Saturday witnessed the peak of glamour and glory at the Safari Park in Nairobi as thousands of film industry stakeholders and fans gathered for the 8th edition of the Kalasha Film & TV Awards.

The event, instituted in 2009 and first held a year later by the Kenyan Film Commission to reward the biggest and best achievements in the Film industry, saw a great display of fashion and allure on the red carpet as the elites of the movie industry, media space and politics arrived.

Top media personalities Amina Rabar and Jeff Koinange who emceed the event were on top of their game as they eased tensions that had encircled perhaps the keenest awards event in Nairobi for a few years.

The event also celebrated the contributions of former industry stalwarts such as Charles Kimani [Masaku], Emmanuel Makori [Ayeiya] and Shasha- born Maureen Wanza.

But the biggest entertainment on the night was the awards itself as film lovers followed keenly to discover who would emerge eventual winners in several keen categories spread over directing, producing, acting, writing and technicalities- universally considered the foundational facets of the film industry.


Best supporting actor in a Film – Pascal Tokodi,
Best supporting actress in a film – Marianne Nungo, Supa Modo.
Best Sound Design – Eric Musyoka, Disconnect
Best Lighting – Saul Ogada, Subira.
Best Special Effects – Stephen Mwangudza, Ramah potter.
Best Production Designer – Neha Manoj Shah, Supa Modo.
Best Animation Production – Brian K Tarus, Isolated.
Best Diaspora Production – The Silent Battle, Samuel Oluoko.
Best Documentary – Thank You For The Rain, Emily Wanja.
Best Documentary by a student – No Means No, Bobby Owuor.
Best Student Film – White Feature, Martin Okello.
Best Short Film – Poacher, Davina Leonard.
Best Local Language Film – World Tofauti, Kang’ethe Mungai.
Best Director of Photography – Andrew Mageto, Disconnect.
Best Editor – Roselida Tabu and Terry Kelly, Subira.
Best Original Score – Hart The Band, World Tofauti.
Best Original Screenplay – Supa Modo.
Life Achievement Award – Njeri Karago.
Best Lead Actor in a Film – Johnson Chege, Supa Modo.
Best Lead Actress in a Film – Brenda Wairimu,
Best Director in a Film – Ravneet Sippy Chanda, Subira.
Best Feature Film – Subira.



Best TV advertisement – Modern Coast, Life is a journey.
Pest Performance in a TV comedy – MCA Tricky, Churchill Show.
Best Programming Code – K24 TV.
Best Host in a TV Show – Emcee Jessy, Churchill Raw.
Best TV Drama – Selina, Reuben Odanga.
Best TV Show – Churchill Raw.
Best TV Comedy – The Real Househelps of Kawangware.
Kituo Halisi Award (Local Content) – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC).
Best Lead Actor in a TV drama – Eddie Peter, My Two Wives.
Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama – Diana Mulwa, My Two Wives.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here